Left Bank Books Logo

Collectively operated since 1973

Return to All Books

The Year of the Flood (MaddAddam Trilogy, #2)

by: Margaret Atwood

Publisher: Anchor Press (2009)


Staff Pick by comrade: KC

Atwood's sequel to "Oryx and Crake" is just as terrifying and plausible as its predecessor. In a recognizable future, biotechnology obliterates natural order while capital's grip on human life grows ever tighter...until the apocalypse. Thrilling, disturbing, believable.

Set in the visionary future of Atwood�s acclaimed Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood is at once a moving tale of lasting friendship and a landmark work of speculative fiction. In this second book of the MaddAddam trilogy, the long-feared waterless flood has occurred, altering Earth as we know it and obliterating most human life. Among the survivors are Ren, a young trapeze dancer locked inside the high-end sex club Scales and Tails, and Toby, who is barricaded inside a luxurious spa. Amid shadowy, corrupt ruling powers and new, gene-spliced life forms, Ren and Toby will have to decide on their next move, but they can’t stay locked away.